The Barbados Programme of Action (BPOA) for SIDS was adopted in 1994. This programme was reviewed and revamped in 2005 in the Mauritius Strategy for the Implementation of the Programme of Action for the Sustainable Development of Small Island Developing States (MSI). The Strategy addresses all important elements covering the sustainable development of Small Island Developing States, as well as actions that should be taken in specific strategic sectors, namely natural resources and environmental threats; economic issues; social issues; governance; and issues relating to implementation.

Small Island Developing States in Latin America and the Caribbean

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Aruba
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cuba
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Jamaica
  • Montserrat
  • Netherlands Antilles
  • Puerto Rico
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • United States Virgin Islands