Countries with Special Needs


Least developed countries (LDCs), landlocked developing countries (LLDCs) and small island developing states (SIDS) include the 90 most vulnerable member States of the UN. On average they experienced relatively high GDP growth rates over the past decade. They also made some progress towards achieving the MDGs, though less than other developing countries. In addition, much of this growth was jobless and their economic structure has been mostly stagnant over the last three decades. Thus their production and export structure is still highly concentrated, they are highly dependent on aid and their marginalization in the global economy is exacerbated by their geographical handicaps, including small size, remoteness and their isolation from major international markets and prohibitive trade transaction costs, especially for LLDCs and SIDS. Thus they are still the most vulnerable groups of countries and are disproportionally affected by the multiple crises, especially high and volatile food and energy prices and the effects of climate change to which they did not contribute.

Least Developed Countries (LDC)

  • Haiti

Land Locked Developing Countries (LLDC)

  • Bolivia
  • Paraguay

Small Island Developing States (SIDS)

  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Aruba
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cuba
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Jamaica
  • Montserrat
  • Netherlands Antilles
  • Puerto Rico
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Suriname
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • United States Virgin Islands